Please wipe your feet…

December 31, 2006 at 7:04 am | Posted in Blogging about Blogging, Pass it On (Memes) | 11 Comments

Welcome to my new online home. I moved over to wordpress because I wanted to add categories, and possibly down the road to password protect things.  And also because bloggerbeta drives me nuts.  I’m still playing with themes, so this site might look different next time you stop in.

Since it’s almost 2007 (ack!) I thought I would inaugurate the new site with a look back over the past eleven months of blogging, via a meme that everyone else has already done… the first sentence of each month.  I added my favorite photo from each month, just to be an overachiever. The photos don’t have any relationship to the quotes though.

February: One more voice on the blog-wagon: why should I do it?
Photo: The red shoes.

March: I know from looking at my sitemeter that most of the people who get here are coming via the awesome and all powerful diabetes OC.
Photo: Cuddling Cats

April: For Felix, who commented on my Pet Peeves post:
Photo: Self portrait with daffodils. Although this was pretty significant to us, if short-lived.

May: I had a pretty good weekend. My presentation at the main conference in my field went well. I did not tell everyone I knew at the conference that my wife is five weeks pregnant, although it was very tempting.
Photo: Fertility Shrine

June: Today is blogging for LGBT families day.
Photo: Meet Smokey!

July: A little the worse for wear, but back nonetheless. A warning to the squeamish and to my phobic friends, bodily fluids mentioned below.
Photo: Pili & S.

August: I apologize for leaving that worrisome headline up there for so long.
Photo: Veggie P@rn

September: Just when I was getting ready to go downtown and stage a sit-in at the door of the World’s Slowest Social Worker, aka Mrs. Vaseline Teeth, for not returning our phone calls… what should arrive in the mail yesterday?
Photo: Morning Mist

October: I was inspired out of my blogblahs by Dana’s recent post about forgetting to take her insulin with her.
Photo: Cat & Dossier

November: New Reading Material for the RE’s waiting room?
Photo: Guatebaby

December: I haven’t participated in the Perfect Post awards before, but I saw a button on someone’s blog for them, on the same day that I read this post.
Photo: Holding Hands

Looking back like this reminds me what a crazy, painful and change-filled year it’s been.  I remember when we moved to Small City thinking, I will never do anything this big again (quitting my job to move across the country with Pili, to a city where we knew no one and I had no job prospects).  This year has been so much more tumultuous than that one.  And next year promises yet more change – a new job, the prospect of another possible move, and hopefully, somewhere in there – AFTER THREE YEARS of trying and hoping – a baby, just maybe?

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome to Word Press – much less infuriating than blogger 🙂

  2. Congratulations on the big move! It looks great. I’d give you a housewarming gift, but I’m flat out of baked goods. Which is a blessing, really, considering it’s still “holiday” season.

  3. Looks spiffy around here (although personally I rate typepad way above wordpress, I guess at least wordpress is free!). Happy New Year. At least for you, 2007 should indeed be a big improvement on 2006!

  4. Hi there

    It looks like Word Press took everyone across from Blogger. Was the move easily accomplished?

    I’ve not been blogging enough to have a strong opinion pro or con Blogger. It’s good to know there are alternates in case I wanted to move in the future.

    I wish you an exciting and baby-filled 2007.

  5. A beautiful new space! Many happy posts.

  6. I like your new home!

  7. Happy house warming, and happy new year! May this be the year your dreams come true.

  8. Nice place!
    Happy New Year!

  9. I may have to move, too. Sure, all the cool kids are doing it.

    Nice digs, a-s. And I love the little photo of Guatababy – something to coo at as I type my comments. Awwwwww….

  10. Nice new digs! I’m a little jealous as I haven’t had a spare moment to dive into wordpress and Blogger Beta gives me hives. But I am happy for you nonetheless.

    Happy New Year! Here’s to Guatebaby in 2007!!!!!!

  11. A-S,

    Love the new home! I’ve updated my links and I’m now a faithful reader over in this here new neck of the woods. 🙂

    Congrats!

    — Kerri.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

