You take the good, you take the bad…

January 17, 2007 at 12:30 am | Posted in AdoptThis! | 18 Comments

The good news: we FINALLY got authorization for Guatebaby and his mom to be DNA tested.
The bad news: They were supposed to be tested last week, but the mom was sick and was not able to make the appt.  I am of course, freaking out semi-convinced that this is a Bad Sign that she is changing her mind or something.

The good news: We are talking with the coordinator about scheduling our visit trip.
The bad news: Probably won’t be until late february, early march.

Oh and GAL, it would be nice to get January updates, oh, sometime before February starts.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m sorry. The whole process sounds frustrating and drawn out.

    The only insanely-bureaucratic thing I’ve ever done was being the executrix and substituted administratrix of two estates at the same time. The process went like this: “rush rush rush wait…….. rush rush rush wait………” It was so frustrating.

    I hope that things start happening more quickly and soon.

  2. Congrats on at least having a date and the promise of an end in mind.

    Is it common for the birth parents to change their minds and back out, even after everything’s been authorized?

  3. Good news about the DNA auth! I will cross my fingers/say a prayer that the test is done ASAP. The stress is terrible!

  4. Wow is that ever exciting and anxiety inducing! Seems like you and me are in parallel “pregnancies”, though with no due date. BLEAH!

  5. I’d have my teeth ground to nubs if this were me. I hope it all hurries up, although as the first commenter said, these things are usually a test of hurry up and wait.

  6. I can only try to imagine how frustrating this must all be. We’ll keep you in our thoughts for a quick resolution to the DNA issue.

  7. What a roller coaster! I hope the good news starts to increase quickly.

  8. ahhh. all the hurry up & wait must make you guys nuts.
    hope the trip gets booked SOON!

  9. Wowza. How very frustrating, though I’m glad the DNA testing is coming through. I will think good thoughts that you will be with your son before the anticipated end of February/beginning or March. Thinking of you!

  10. Aaah…and there you have the facts of life. Hope all falls into place with ease.

  11. OK, things are coming along, but waaaay toooo slooooowly. Grrrr.

    Next thing you know though, you’ll be waking with Guatebaby and feeding him and changing his diapers 🙂 It’ll happen….

  12. Yippee, Yahoo!!

    ANY progress — when it is an adoption — is good progress.

    Take the forward step as a good sign and the rest as just adoption processing as usual.

    I hope the time between now and that first trip go SUPER FAST.

  13. Hang in there. Your making “baby steps” (sorry, that was cheesy). I can’t imagine the stress, you deal with it with such grace. Good luck to you and Pili.

  14. Dang! Hang in there! I know it’s frustrating, but it will all happen SOON! And you’ll be holding GB in your arms, and all this will be a distant memory!!

  15. GOOD: You have a date!
    BAD: You got the theme for “The Facts of Life” going through my head!

  16. Wow! You are soooo close.

    I know these last minute hurdles are maddening (not to mention damn stressful), but again–

    You are soooo lose.

    Just hang on, Art-Sweet.

    Can’t wait to see the first photo of your beautiful family at home together. (Got goosebumps just thinking of it. 🙂

  17. Wow, good luck. February will be here sooner than you think.

    crossing fingers for you guys,

    e

  18. I keep forgetting that when you update your blog it doesn’t show up on the diabetes daily headlines. I need to do better about that! I got a chance to read all that I’ve missed in the past month though. I’m sending you positive thoughts that will keep your guatababy moving along on his way home to you and pili!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

