The Winter Holiday of My Choice

January 19, 2007 at 2:42 am | Posted in Linky Love | 5 Comments

So I did this… holiday thing. Despite my self avowed grinchiness I do love giving and getting presents especially when I don’t have to.

And I finally got my present today. The fact that I finally got it today is not my fabulous gifter’s fault at all. First, the postman came in the one hour no one was home, and the package had to be signed for in person. Except that he forgot to check that box, and so I signed it and stuck it on the door. Then (obviously I need to have a word with my mailman) he tried to redeliver it, and I wasn’t home to sign and so he left another slip, and this one said that I could go to the post office and pick it up. So I tried to do that on Wednesday, because I was going to be out of town Wednesday night and all day Thursday. Only to find out that the dratted mailman was, in fact, trying to redeliver it at that very moment!

The valient Pili tracked it down this morning, and when I got home tonight, there it was sitting on the dining room table waiting for me. It smelled suspiciously deliciously like vanilla (yippee!) and it had this label on it.

Four presents? Very promising indeed….

Further investigation by both me and the felines (I was too impatient to take a lot of pictures, I’m afraid. And they don’t have opposable thumbs, thank g-d) revealed an incredibly cozy fleecy blanket, in a lovely deep red color, perfect for chilly upstate winter nights. It also revealed…

dsc_5554.jpg

TRUFFLES! TRUFFLES! GODIVA TRUFFLES. I love you gifter, love you. As if that wasn’t enough to ensure my eternal happiness, or at least a few minutes of it, there was also a very yummy smelling vanilla candle and a beautiful glass candle holder for it. And a book –

dsc_5555.jpg

Which Pili promptly tried to steal. A grown-up book by Frances Hodgsen Burnett, The Making of a Marchioness. Looks very promising.

dsc_5558.jpg

Who could it be from? I had an idea… someone who had started commenting on my blog shortly after the gift extravaganza matches were released. But there was no name on the package… just a return address – in Virginia. Hmmm… YES. Thank you, Liz – it’s perfect, and will definitely help pass the time!

Tomorrow… my GIFTEE and what she received. Otherwise known as, yeah right Andrea, that was a random match. Uh-huh.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It was random! Totally random!

    Though I admit I was very happy with how most of hte matches turned out.

    I’m glad you got such a great present.

  2. Yay! So glad you liked them.

    I loved getting to know you through this. You are a permanant fixture in my life now.

  3. That’s a most excellent gift package! Sounds like your gifter knows you well.

    Happy Winter Holiday!

  4. Very cool!

  5. That was fantastic! If it happens again next year, I would love to participate.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

