too little time, too little sleep = random collection of thoughts

February 28, 2007 at 2:38 am | Posted in Linky Love, M'ijo, The Sweet Life | 18 Comments

I am a homebody. Two long weekends out of town in a row, and I am a mess.  My blood sugars are playing that fun game called chasing the rollercoaster. Whee 355! Whee 45! Whee 306! Whee 62 again. And that whole losing weight thing? Um, did someone say something? So very much not fun.

My parents want to come up and visit this weekend and I’m torn.  I want to see them and yet I have so many things I need to do before we leave for Guatemala (dates purposefully left a little vague for nebulous internet-privacy reasons, sorry. You’ll hear about it when we get back!). I want to actually write something for lesbian family which I have been shamefully neglecting. I have a thousand things to do for work. I feel like I haven’t been alone with Pili in ages. (And yet I am blogging right now rather than curling up with her. A sad fact.)

We are accumulating stuff for the Guatebaby. Hand-me-downs mostly, a few purchases here and there (my weakness? books, books, books. And soft clothes).  I am trying not to be superstitious that it is bad luck to acquire things before he is home.  It’s only before they’re born that you’re not supposed to buy stuff – right?

We got the most amazing gift from Bernard – a fellow PWD and adoptive parent. A soft stuffed kitty cat, Stack and Roll Cups for hours of baby amusement, and for the mommies – top-secret James Bond passport holders, a cozy neck rest for the looong flight to Guatemala City, gatorade powder and glucose gel for one mommy in particular, and that lifesaver of international travel – a large box of gallon ziplocs. Thank you so, so much Bernard. We are moved beyond words.

We found out that our case is out of family court, which is great. Unfortunately, we’re still waiting on pre-approval from the embassy before we can be submitted to PGN. It is nice to know that progress is happening, however glacially it seems to me.

And only a few more days until we are face to face with this:

Sleeping

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, so soon! So exciting! Good luck!

  2. He looks adorable, A-S! Have a good trip (whenever you go).

  3. Oh, I cannot wait to be hearing all about your trip!!!!! And I have a similar weakness for books. They’re irresistable!

  4. I am really excited for you, Art. Can’t wait to see pics and hear how the trip went.

  5. oh my oh my oh my – the cuteness – I can’t wait for you to meet guatababy!

    And as soon as we clean out our storage unit, TONS of MP3 hand me downs are en route!

  6. I really should save the congratulations for after your return from Guatemala, but consider this pre-congratulations! My sister (also a T1DM’er) adopted a little girl 4 years ago (she just celebrated her 5th bithday) and she says its been the most fulfilling decision ever made.

    Anyway, I think we all look forward to reading about your experience.

  7. Oh, he just gets cuter and cuter (and cuter!). I am sending you a little something. It won’t reach you by the time you leave for this trip, but it will be useful for a long time. I am thinking of you all as you go through this process. Did I mention your boy is incredibly adorable? Ooh, those cheeks!

  8. What a sweet picture!

  9. What a great picture!

    Wishing you some rest and relaxation (along with nice, happy, and cooperative BG’s).

    I hope your trip goes well – and how very cool of Bernard to send along those gifts! Very nice!

  10. Congrats on getting out of FC! That is great news. Do you know how long you’ve been waiting for preapproval? I hope you get in and out of PGN very quickly!

  11. a) oh what a darling smooshie. Give him kisses from the Os ’til we can deliver them in person.

    b) okay, I am finally going to ask: What does PGN stand for??

  12. Crap weasel. I have a little present for you guys. I guess it will have to wait until you get back. Are you coming to NYC with the baby? Are you coming to NYC? Because I would love, love, LOVE to see you again and if you’re bringing the munchkin, even better.

    When you have a minute, shoot me an email with your address. Thanks.

  13. PGN = Procuraduría General de la Nación

    It corresponds to our attorney general’s office. They examine cases to make sure there is no evidence of fraud, which is a good thing.

    Unfortunately, they also can get ridiculously nitpicky, which is a BAD thing.

  14. Hey you! I am home with mine, and haven’t even posted on my own blog yet due to chaos and jet lag. My pictures are coming in this afternoon so should end up on flikr via my family blog.

    It all works in the end, I did not have a visa for KN until 24 hours before we left. I kept waiting for something to go Really Wrong but it just went a little wrong until it went right.

    It’s Mr Toad’s Wild ride and then you are home and then you live your life in the midst of shaken out suit cases until–well I’m not sure when that part ends yet!

    Mazel tov!

  15. Congratulations on your imminent departure to Guatemala. I can’t wait to hear and see more about the guatemunchkin when you guys get back! Good luck with everything from here on…

  16. I can’t wait to hear all about your son when you get back. It’s what I am going to think about to get me though my surgery!

  17. OMG – he looks like such a crime fighter! I love it.
    SOOOO effing glad that things are moving along.
    squeal!!

  18. he’s precious!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

