And next year may there be (at least) one more at the table

April 3, 2007 at 9:58 am | Posted in AdoptThis! | 20 Comments

That’s my Passover wish for all of us out there who are adopting/ttcing.

When I was studying abroad in Germany, I went to a seder led by a lubavitcher rebbe (I didn’t know that this would be the case when I went to it!) Aside from the fact that we didn’t start eating until midnight, because he spoke only English and everything had to be translated into German and Russian, I was also taken aback by the way he interpreted the story of the Exodus as a story about chosenness. I had never heard the Passover story interpreted that way, and it enraged me.

In my family seders and in the ones that I’ve had with family and friends since setting out as an adult, I choose to focus more on images of justice and freedom from bondage. We spill a drop of wine and take away from our joy to mark the fact that our liberation meant the suffering of the Egyptians.

This year this story rings even more true for me. I think of Moses’ mother, Yocheved, watching her child be raised by Pharoah’s daughter, knowing that by giving up her child, she saved his life – and lost the chance to live as his mother.

In the section about the plagues, the haggadah that we are using this year says:
“Help us to dream new paths to freedom, so that the next sea-opening is not also a drowning; so that our singing is never again their wailing. So that our freedom leaves no one orphaned, childless, gasping for air.”

To which I (& Guatebaby) say amen.

Five Months!

Wishing you and yours a very sweet and peaceful Pesach.

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That was very nice, Art.

  2. Good Lord, he’s cute, Art. 🙂

  3. Right back at you, Art. that’s our deep wish for next year as well…for us, and for you.

    And that picture makes me weak with its cuteness.

  4. My gosh, I think he get cuter in every picture.

  5. ditto.

    he’s so freaking cute it should be illegal.

  6. The boy does get cuter with every picture.

    Your post reminded me of my own seder last night, where my mother announced that “Al-Levai, next year we’ll have another baby in the house.” All eyes went to my stomach. Chag Sameach to you and Pili, and instead of next year in Jerusalem, next year with children for both of us.

  7. That was a lovely post, a-s.

    I had a dream about you the other night. It was bizarre, but at the end of it, you had a baby and everyone was crying with happiness. I was pregnant AGAIN, so let’s hope that part of the dream doesn’t happen! I woke up simultaneously thrilled to pieces (for you) and freaking right the hell out (for me).

    Also, could you email me your address so I can send you the stuff I forgot to give you in NYC?

  8. I’d never thought about the Moses story in this light — from Yocheved’s point of view. Thank you for this.

    (Also, I’m so glad the haggadah resonated for you! 🙂

  9. Happy Passover to you too and I certainly hope you have him home many many many months before next passover!

  10. Amen indeed, on all counts!!

    And oh, he is beautiful!!!

  11. I hope there is at least one more at the table with you next year.

    A beautiful post.

  12. Yes. Next year may there be another one at your table. I had the same thought as I said the shehecheyanu, my son in my arms.

    Happy and sweet passover to you.

  13. Zissen Pesach to you and yours

  14. Very interested to know which haggadah that is, the link doesn’t say!

    Hoping that your wish comes true for next year.

  15. Amen, Amen, Amen.

  16. He looks so cute!!

  17. Happy passover to you too. Sending you best wishes, Robin, Marcia, Pearl & Carrie

  18. he is so cute…I had no idea you shall have a little Jewtemalan as we do.

    SBP

  19. I have no idea what a pesach is exactly but a sweet and peaceful one to you too.

  20. Guatebaby is GORGEOUS! I hope that he will come home soon.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

