I highly recommend…

April 4, 2007 at 10:34 pm | Posted in AdoptThis! | 3 Comments

This public radio series on international adoption. It talks about the rewards, the challenges, and the tough tough ethical questions with which we wrestle.

Also, for Thalia and others who asked, the haggadah I mentioned can be found here(opens acrobat reader window). The consensus at our seder was that it was a nice mix of provocation and tradition, although we might stick in a few pages from the old family haggadah next year just for the fun of the rabbinic hair-splitting: how can one show that following the ten plagues in Egypt itself the Egyptians were smitten with fifty plagues at the Red Sea? … well, if one finger of God in Egypt caused ten plagues, we may assume from this that the whole hand of God at the Red Sea caused fifty plagues. And so on.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have a friend (who now lives in Phoenix) who always invited me to her seders. I knew she was including her own viewpoints on the observance because in addition to the formal book, we also got a bunch of handouts to read from, most with a emphasis on Miriam.
    This brings back wonderful memories of all of the friends gathered around the tables. I always kept a tube of glucose tabs on my lap because we’d eat very late – one year I went through 12!
    She will love the Velveteen Rabbit version and I will email it to her tonight.

  2. I really liked the haggadah, some nice things in it. Thanks for sharing!

  3. ha ha ha ha ha….I love the rabbis and the fingers too (but my mom and I have made a feminist haggadah or too in our day).


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

