It’s official, I’m a nervous wreck

April 16, 2007 at 9:20 pm | Posted in Bringing Home the Bacon, Home, Sweet Home? | 32 Comments

I got a letter in the mail today officially offering me the position in more-urban-city-down-the-road (MUCDTR) that has been in the works since november.

I am thrilled. I am panicking, big time.

Homes in MUCDTR are twice as expensive as our house here. There is actually more than one neighborhood where we’d consider living. We need to find a home. Very very soon. Mortgage. House selling. House buying. Movers. Aaaaaaaaaack. [sandbox, head, insert, deeply]

We will be moving. I will be starting a new job. And possibly hopefully bringing home our boy. All right around the same time, if g-d and pgn* cooperate. Aaaaaaaack. [deep breath of sand]

Pili will be commuting a loooong way to her job and staying over a few nights a week while school is in session. I will be single momming it a few nights a week while school is in session. [Daycare. Add to list of Things. To. Figure. Out. Very large breath of sand.]

House. Daycare. Car. Two-door tin-can. Want to replace with car that does not require advanced yoga skills in order to get car seat in/out before boy comes home. Buy house. Buy car. Sell house. Sell car? Finish Big Projects at Current Job. Start New Job. Bring home baby? Move. And Still Leave time for Pili to Write Book.

Hyperventilating sand.

Plus: As much as I gripe about the city with only three thai restaurants, we’ve made some really wonderful friends here. We have a beautiful house here. Now that this possible job is becoming Real, I find myself clutching onto the familiar and wondering whether I could have overlooked some way – in all my trying – that I could have made this place work for me professionally.

I know this is the right move. I think I know this is the right move. I’m so so freakin’ scared.

*This is assuming we are actually in PGN. Because this is a HAPPY albeit panicky post, I am not going to get into my current irritation with GAL today.

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW!!! Congratulations!! Talk about starting a new life, Art.

    Trust me, if anyone can handle what’s coming in the next few months…it’s you.

  2. Congratulations!!!

    Slow Deep Breaths. It Will All Be Good.

    🙂

    Yay!!

  3. Oh girl, I am right there with you. Let’s run away to Mexico, k?

  4. Congrats on the job! It’s not an ideal situation, but I’m sure you will make it work for all 3 of you. I take it living 1/2 way isn’t an option? Many couples around here do that–they live in between two commutes and each spouse ends up with an hour drive instead of one spouse with a 2 hour drive. Regardless, though, I’m really happy for you about the job and all the little details will work themeselves out. Like a car. I feel you on that one. And my SO is still convinced that we can fit a baby in a Honda Insight.

  5. Congratulations on your job offer! I hope all the details work themselves out smoothly.

  6. AMAZING-WHEN IT RAINS, IT POURS!
    I believe that you have to be in PGN!
    Congrats!

  7. congratulations!

  8. Hey congrats on the job. Deep breaths – look at it this way, you can pick out a kid friendly neighborhood, a kid-friendly house, etc. It will work out fine.

  9. I believe Lo put you in touch with our friends who live in MUCDTR. Well, one of them is a realtor. She works for a non-profit, so while she may not be able to assist you as your realtor per se (not sure what your or her criteria are), she is definitely someone who could give you some helpful info about housing in the area.

    Good luck.

  10. congrats!!!
    sometimes the scary stuff is the BEST.
    xoxo

    • after getting home this evening I brushed her again (having to do it sometimes twice daily) and I swear I do812n#&7;t know where any more of this fur is coming from. At least she’s comfy during this heat.

  11. Congrats on the new job, and the pending move to the more-urban-city-down-the-road (MUCDTR)!

  12. The good news is, you’ve now nicely exfoliated your lungs.

    Congratulations! You can do it. It will be crazy and stressful, but in a good way.

  13. Oh Mercy.
    DB has already taught you to deal with many things at once, so, move forward sis.
    (ALthough I became a bit agitated reading this.)
    But, nonetheless, very exciting. You can do it!

  14. Congratulations! This is what is called a “good stresser,” right? But why do even good stressers make us breathe sand? (Great image, by the way!)

  15. Dood, that’s a whole heap o’ crap going on right there. Good luck with all of it.

  16. Wow, Art, that’s fantastic! Congratulations!

    Let me know if you want to talk about how to help make moving and those kinds of transitions easier–I’ve got a ton of hard-earned experience. 🙂

  17. Well, it at least it sounds like good stress. 🙂 That’s how I measure my own life.

    I’m not sure if this is a workable suggestion, but if buying a house/selling your house is a seriously difficult part of the equation, perhaps you could get yourselves there by renting? My passing knowledge of MUCDTR indicates you could get an apt. big enough for the three (!) of you.

  18. Wow! A lot of good (and scary) things going on with you right now!!! I hope all the right things happen. Good luck!!!!

  19. Ok, deeeeeep breath (of oxygen, not sand). Now, just do the next right thing in front of you. Lather, rinse, repeat until all done! Lots and lots of stuff going on – but it will all get done by one task at a time.
    I agree with Lo – consider renting for 6 months – that may buy you time to sell existing home and be sure of what areas you really will want to live in!
    Congratulations!

  20. All good, yet harrowingly busy things. But good. Yay.

  21. Deep breaths and congratulations!

  22. Wow! Many congrats. We will miss you dearly. We are staying as it’s just too expensive for us to afford to move to WA. WTG on the job!

  23. Congratulations! You should go for it for sure! Even though it will be difficult and stressful right now, it will be the right move in the long run.

  24. Congratulations! And Yipes! And more congratulations!!!

  25. Congratulations!!!

  26. Congrats on the job! And, um, sand has *some* oxygen in between the sand bits, right? So you’re not dead yet. 🙂 You’ll be fine.
    And I’m relatively certain that, once you hit your new town, that you’ll be able to find *some* helpful souls to help you unpack your truck, or put books on shelves, or whatever else you need.
    And I’m sure the MUCDTR has good Thai food. Doesn’t everywhere? Personally, I’m a fan of massaman curry.

  27. This IS cause for celebration. Like someone said, it’s not the ideal, but it’s good for now. That which does not kill us makes us stronger- I firmly believe that. You and Pili are going to just fine, and so is GB. I also FIRMLY believe that.

  28. You know that we are also fond of doing absolutely every stressful thing we could possibly do all at one time. It keeps things interesting, at least. All good news!

  29. My brother and I were both adopted. My brother’s older. My parents applied two years in advance of when they expected they would be ready, because that was the general rule of thumb. They got a call ONE WEEK later saying, please come pick up your son. My mom was a full time PhD candidate and my dad was doing his medical residancy. But it worked. And yours will, too. And that’s one lucky, lucky baby to have such spectacular moms. And, congratulations on the job 🙂

  30. Congrats on the job offer! It’s scary, but it sounds really good.
    I’m sorry that I don’t comment much, but I do think about you and your little guy often.

  31. Wow! Congratulations! I don’t comment often, but I keep up with your blog and I’m truly happy for you.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

