I love the internet

April 29, 2007 at 11:01 am | Posted in I really couldn't come up with a category for this | 10 Comments

Dear Dr. Short But Sweet,

Thanks for the invitation to your tenth anniversary celebration and congratulations on reaching this milestone.  As Pili and I do not have any children, and this appears to be a very family-centered event, we will not be attending.  In the future, I would suggest that it might be more sensitive to leave those patients who are not “success stories”  off the mailing list for such events.  It simply serves as one more reminder that we are not among the lucky ones.

Sincerely,

ArtSweet

On a totally different note: For a writing project I’m working on, I need references to songs with the word “friends” in the lyrics.  I’ve got “with a little help from my friends,” “that’s what friends are for,” and “you’ve got a friend” but I need a few more.  Preferably songs that would resonate with the baby boomer generation… any suggestions?

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hope they get a clue when they get your letter.

    As for songs, how about:

    Friends will be Friends – Queen
    I’ve got friends in low places – Garth Brooks
    My Best Friend – Tim McGraw
    Thank you for being a friend – Sonshine Generation
    Goodbye my friend – Spice Girls

  2. Well, there’s always “Friends” by Bette Midler. Other artists have recorded a song by the same name (ie Barry Manilow) but not sure if it’s the same song. There’s also “Old Friends/Bookends” by Simon & Garfunkel, “Friends can be Lovers” by Dionne Warwick, “Old Friends for Sale” by Prince, and “Friends and Lovers” by Bob Marley & Rita Marley & The Soulettes. Rather an eclectic list. 🙂

  3. “You’re My Best Friend” by Weezer. I love that song! Great, now it’ll be running through my head all day…. Thanks a lot!

  4. excellent response to the clinic. short, but sweet 😉

    as for songs:
    Friend of Mine by LIz Phair (heh)
    We’re Going to Be Friends: White Stripes
    Friends Forever: Old 97’s
    Diamonds are a Girls Best Friend
    What a Friend We Have in Jesus (I kid)

  5. Well we can’t leave The Bobster out – “All I Really Wanna Do…Is Baby Be Friends with You”.

  6. You’re my Best Friend by Queen
    Friend of the Devil by the Grateful Dead
    Bosom Buddies from Mame
    The Best of Friend from The Fox and the Hound
    A Friend like Me from Aladdin

    Good letter to dr. moron.

  7. A song that became much more popular as the theme song to The Golden Girls, but in case anyone forgets, “Thank You for Being a Friend” was written by Andrew Gold, who recorded it for his 3rd album (“All This And Heaven Too”) which reached #25 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1978.

  8. Waitin’ on a Friend – Rolling Stones (one of the few Stones songs I like)
    Just A Friend – BizMarkie (heh. I kid. Sort of.)
    My Best Friend’s Girl – The Cars
    Whenever I Call You Friend – Kenny Loggins (gah!)
    Birdhouse In Your Soul – They Might Be Giants

    Excellent letter. I hope you sent it.

  9. James Taylor–You’ve got a friend

  10. Glad to Have a Friend Like You (off the Free to Be You and Me album)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

