It appears I did something right in a former life

May 7, 2007 at 10:33 pm | Posted in The Sweet Life | 17 Comments

I am the damn luckiest diabetic out there (so far).

Another annual eye exam.

Twenty-one years and counting.  A long stretch behind me of A1Cs that made my doctors sigh heavily and say, I know you know that this isn’t good for you.  An even longer stretch behind me of years when I didn’t bother to know what my A1C was.

Another annual eye exam.

Dread in the pit of my stomach all day. Will this be the time I don’t dodge the bullet? The other shoe has to fall sometime. Biting my lip as my eyes go crazy and I wait for the doctor to come in and check me. Taking my glasses off to see if there are any magazines on the rack. Putting them back on to see that the magazines a foot in front of my face are all year-old copies of Golf Digest. Waiting for the doctor to come in.

Look at my ear. Hairy ears. No, look straight ahead. At my ear. Ewww. Bright light, blinking, blinking. Let’s try that again. Okay, just a minute more. Okay, you’re done.

Your eyes look great.

Pili standing up in the waiting room, scanning my face for signs of trouble. Smiling when she sees that I’m smiling at her.

Your eyes look great.

Stepping out into the blinding sunlight, grateful for its ferocity even behind dark sunglasses.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. GREAT news! (as I slink away, shamefully, for procrastinating my own exam for the past 6 months…)

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ART!
    HERE’S TO ANOTHER HEALTHY YEAR!

  3. I’m glad to hear it all went well.

    Sometimes I hate reading about this stuff, what you and Kerri and Nicole and Scott all the other adult type 1s dread and go thru. I hate knowing this is ahead of O and that I can’t always go with her to these appointments and that she’ll be facing this fear all on her own. It makes me die a little inside.

  4. hey, congratulations! (hairy ears – ewww – ROTFL!)

  5. Congrats! 🙂 Luckily, for some of us, those eye appts only happen once a year! I’m always grateful for that.

  6. That is terrific news, A-S. I’m glad you’re holding strong.

    And I laughed out loud at the “hairy ears” part. I just had a dilated exam last Thursday and it’s strange what we chose to focus on while they’re shining … the sun, it seems, into our eyes. My doctor has a mole just above his right eyebrow. I stared at it for a while. 🙂

  7. Great news!
    I’m very happy for you.

  8. Wonderful news! You deserve some bright spots. =)

  9. Good for you. That’s excellent.

    I’ve got mine this afternoon. 😦

  10. That is great news! I totally feel you on the anticipation of that other shoe dropping.

  11. I’m glad the worst part of today was hairy ears!

  12. Hooray!!

  13. Bask and savor…….

  14. Nice job on the eye exam. I am always waiting unfortunately for the other shoe to drop.

    Excellent news about your eyes!!!

  15. whoo hoo!

  16. Good for you! Eye exams are horrible. I had one nasty old doc ask me if I found it difficult to sew with my poor eyesight. I told him no, and I didn’t find it difficult to pursue my career as a trial attorney either.
    On another matter, why doesn’t my password work anymore? It worked once for a protected post but it won’t work for the recent Happy Camper entry. Help!
    Now I’ll go back to my sewing.
    Love you!

  17. Happy Mommas’ Day!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

