Cloud Eight

June 15, 2007 at 1:57 am | Posted in M'ijo | 30 Comments

Every once in a while, in the midst of arguing about trying to figure out where we’re going to live and how we’re going to make this work, Pili and I look over at each other and one of us says: GB is coming home.  He’s coming home!  And we bust out smiling, almost as widely as this: 

Smiler

I think he’s smiling because so many of you were happy to hear that he was OUT of PGN!

For those of you in the “that sounds like good news, but what does it mean?” camp, PGN stands for Procuradoría General de la Nación. It’s akin to the attorney general’s office. PGN can approve cases quickly, or it can be a royal pain in the tuches, picking the world’s tiniest nits and making people redo documents over and over again. There’s very little rhyme or reason to it and no clear timeline.  I have heard of people getting out in three weeks, and people who have been in for over a year.  It’s totally unpredictable and absolutely miserable.

Once the case has (finally) been approved by the PGN, the firstmom signs off one more time. At this point, Guatebaby will be legally part of our family. This may very well have happened already by now.

The lawyer will request a new birth certificate with our last name on it (I really wish they didn’t do this – it’s as if they were trying to erase the people who brought him into this world) and apply for a Guatemalan passport for him. These documents are translated by an approved translator and submitted to the U.S. Embassy along with a ton of other paperwork to apply for a visa. The visa approval is issued on pink paper, so getting the visa approval, along with the date of your formal embassy interview, is often called “getting PINK.” The Embassy can, of course, do its own nit-picking and make you jump through a few more hoops before issuing the visa approval, but we’re hoping this doesn’t happen.

Hopefully within two or three weeks, we will know when the Embassy appt. will be. Then we will hie ourselves down to Guatemala, take custody of the Boy, and wait for the interview to happen and the final paperwork to be issued (another day or two). Then… homeward bound – possibly as early as mid-July.

We were under the impression that our file had been “kicked out” and resubmitted June 1. Normally, it takes 6-10 weeks from a resubmit to get OUT. So we were not expecting this phone call AT ALL.

So why not Cloud Nine?

As I mentioned in my deleted post on Tuesday night, our sweet boy has a big smooth bald patch on the back of his head. It’s not from lying on his back as he rolls over like a madman. We’ve gotten about six different explanations from the doctor, agency, and dermatologist they took him too, none of which really make any sense. [cradle cap, reaction to medicine for cradle cap, reaction to medicine for a rash on his neck, and “something fungal”] And we haven’t been able to get the full medical history we’d like to have in order to be able to bring the pictures to a pediatrican or pediatric dermatologist here. (If you are a medical professional who might know something about this and you’d like to take a gander at the pictures, please email me). Pili took the pictures with her when she went to the dermatologist today, and he said it looked like alopecia areata. This wouldn’t be the end of the world, by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s worrisome, and we’d like to figure out what’s going on.

Geez, this kid isn’t even biologically related to me and he may have autoimmune issues. Am I a bad influence or what?

Plus there’s the aforementioned two mortgages, one and a half jobs, situation to argue about discuss respectfully.

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have been away for a while and just read your awesome news! I am so happy for you both. And excited! (and I don’t even know you!…). Not long to go now… HOpe the next steps go smoothly.

  2. Well, I don’t think anyone could smile wider than that! Hopefully the rest would go smoothly. Good luck!

  3. What a whirlwind. Pictures on WordPress are the only ones that I can see on my computer at work, so, this was a wonderful way to start Friday – looking at The Boy and his vibrant smile.

  4. Artsweet

    Can I make a gentle suggestion? Don’t sweat the bald spot too much. All of our kids had minor issues that for the most part disappeared once we got them home and had them on better balanced nutrition and medical care.

    My guess is that for the cute little smiling guy you have, he’ll be just fine once you get him back here. You may want to make an appointment with a doctor/clinic who specializes in adoptive kids for a good look over on your return.

    He’s got a million dollar smile. Thanks for sharing that lovely picture.

  5. Thank you for explaining some of the terms- I’ll shout a “whoo hoo!” at anything, but it is nice to know what exactly I am doing cartwheels for 🙂

    Hope you get your Pinks soon!!
    xo

  6. mid-July is so close!
    I second the “don’t sweat it” comment. Wait until you have him here and you can take him to a doctor in person and see what happens.

    Our boy’s got autoimmune stuff, too (eczema). I think it’s just becoming relatively common for people’s immune systems to get overzealous. Unfortunately.

  7. Congratulations on being one BIG step closer to bringing GB home!!

  8. Wow, dood, that’s, like, a month away! Are your insides all wibbly? Mine would be. So exciting.

    Get him checked out when he gets here, but really, worrying about it now is only going to stress you out even more. I think you have enough stress on your plate.

  9. I was in tears this morning reading your great news. I second? third? fourth? fifth? the no sweating the bald spot thing! It may very well BE that its a rubbing off of the hair – it doesn’t take much to get that hair off! My little girl rolls both ways and sleeps on her tummy, holds her head up, etc etc and she STILL has that bald spot. I am so excited for you!!!

  10. Dude, no matter what, I’m just thrilled to bits about you being OUT!!!! Hope you get a speedy PINK!!!!

  11. Oh, happy, happy, happy, happy, happy.

  12. I swear, every freakin’ time I come here I leave all teary. And not for the same reasons I was leaving all teary a few weeks ago when this PGN thing (thanks for the exposition) seemed to be going on forever. Now I can’t WAIT to see pictures of that little boy at HOME, which is where you and Pili are, no matter where THAT ends up being.

  13. I really am so happy for you three. Here’s hoping you’ll be able to travel SOON.

    As for the work/home/mortgage stuff, I’m thinking of y’all and hoping for the best!

  14. ¡Que Bueno!

    Awesome news.

  15. I am sure they don’t give the kids alcohol, but I swear that GB looks drunk with happiness! Either that or he knows awesome his two mommies are and that he gets to come home soon!

    He is going to be a big hit when he gets older. As I said before: Guatemalan-born boy, raised Jewish by two mommies = just about the perfect partner.

  16. I had read about this earlier when I saw the deleted entry on bloglines, but I didn’t want to comment in case you had decided not to bring it back up. So, anyway, I’ll keep it all crossed that it turns out to be something easily treatable. If not, yeah, there are worse things than being bald. But it certainly isn’t something anyone would choose either. But that kid is so damn cute that I seriously think he could pull it off.

  17. Congratulations, and I hope there’s a simple explanation for the baby’s bald spot!

  18. Reading your post just made my day!

    Congrats …….

  19. Wonderful news! Congratulations! Oh my, he has SUCH a beautiful smile!

  20. Fantastic news about PGN but sorry to hear about the bald patch. Let’s hope that it’s something that you can address when you get him home. WHich will be SOON!

  21. There’s a very real chance we’ll be down there at the same time!! I would love love love to meet you, Pili, and GB. I’ll keep stalkingchecking your blog for updates! 🙂

  22. My little kid medicine is a little rusty, but I was always pretty good in dermatology. Feel free to e-mail me the pictures.

  23. woooo hoooo
    1. i am so psyched for you
    2. it is about frickin’ time
    3. pgn sucks- and not in a good way
    congratulations
    here’s to quick PINK and getting that boy home where he belongs.

  24. That’s super news! And I found your comment about his autoimmune issues funny, I would feel exactly the same way, already influencing my future child over the miles, jeez, can the universe not let up a little?!

    Thanks for your comment about chocolate. My blood sugars have been horrible lately, not surprisingly. I need to do more sport, it always helps but when I’m down, chocolate is so much more appealing than the gym or even just going for a walk.

  25. Congratulations!! That’s wonderful news! (From a lurker who is smiling and decided what better reason to de-lurk!)

  26. What a gorgeous huge smile! Congratulations to all! I am so happy for you.

  27. YAAAAHOOOO! And what a smile that boy has. He knows he’s coming to you.

    I wouldn’t worry too much about the baldness. Hopefully it is normal “infant pattern baldness.” SNL actually had a skit about baby toupees. Cakie had a bald spot in a line going around his head for a few months, then he lost all of his hair. Then it grew back. Babies are wacky.

    I’m so psyched for you three!

  28. Sorry I’m so late, but I am so, so, so, so SO SO HAPPY for you and your wonderful family. May you be very blessed as you raise Guatebaby. You’re going to be great moms! Kisses and hugs all around. (I hope to meet you all someday soon.) So happy, so happy!

  29. So happy for you girls! Congratulations on your final unification soon. (Sorry this is so late – I had about 350 posts to read in Bloglines)

  30. WOW!!! i am so ridiculously happy for you!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

