“L” as in…

December 9, 2007 at 8:31 pm | Posted in Meows | 58 Comments

Loving

Loyal

Lapcat

Louie.

There’s a brown smudge on the toilet bowl I can’t quite bring myself to clean up. It’s not poop, it’s catfood that I flushed down the toilet on Thursday, after Louie didn’t want to eat any of his dinner. He had had kidney problems for a long time, but had been doing well until recently.

On Thursday, we brought him to the vet. On Friday morning, the vet called and said that we needed to talk about Options. On Friday night, my sweet sweet kitty went to sleep for the last time.

Louie was my baby. He was my kitty that I got when Pili and I were first dating, who was never happier than when he was stretched out in my lap, having his chin scratched. He slept on my pillow and let me rest my head on him. When I was sad, I could hold him like a doll and cry into his fur. He “caught” catnip mice and brought them to us, and wouldn’t shut up until you took the mouse and told him what a good hunter he was. When he wanted to sit on my lap, he would put one paw on my leg first. He put up with the other cats, tolerated Pili, and loved me unquestioningly.

He knew me before I was who I am now and losing him feels like losing a piece of myself.

Goodbye LouLou. I hope there are warm laps, bowls of milk, and wiggly bathroom ties whereever you’ve gone.

We miss you so very very much, my loulou patootoo mr. spots. I wish I could have you back for just one more snuggle.

I wish you were here to lick the tears off my face right now.

Pictures…

58 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so so so sorry to hear this. just this week we came to terms with the fact that we have to put one of our cats to sleep very soon. it sucks a lot.

    hugs.

  2. I’m so sorry about your kitty 😦 It’s so hard to lose a pet.

  3. Oh, Art. I am so sorry. Hugs to you.

  4. Only yesterday, Ryan and I were looking at photos of the kitty I’d gotten I when I was 17.

    She was with me for 19 years. I still miss her.

    I am so very sorry for your loss, Art-Sweet.

    (((Hugs)))

  5. So sorry! So sad to lose a pet.

    • Mine was a simple, “Mr. Jacks, come he&0;#823er. Look at this… what the hell. Oh %$#$!” And then a little more cussing from both of us. Not exactly elegant, but a fond memory now!

  6. Geeez, this is really sad. My own cat, Phyllis, has been with me since the early 1990’s — she’s moved with me from California, to Philly, to NYC and she rides in the car like a seasoned traveler. Although she’s only an indoor cat (they live longer on average), I notice that she is becoming geriatric. Although I have lost pets before, there are always some that you miss more than others! Sorry to hear about your loss.

  7. Zuki (my cat) and I are sorry for your loss. I hope he’s finding plenty of catnip mice, too.

  8. Aw 😦 I’m sorry.

  9. 😦 so sorry to hear that.

  10. So sorry. Bye Louie.

  11. I’m so sorry, A-S. It’s so hard to lose a child, no matter if they’re 2 legged or 4. He will always be your child. But now he’s chasing catnip mice, and enjoying a nice bowl of warm milk. *hug*

  12. (sorry, this is Blondie, but Tex sends her love, too)

  13. Oh, I’m so sorry. He was a wonderful cat!

  14. Oh Artsweet, I’m so sorry about Louie. He sounds like he was a wonderful cat and it is so very hard to lose a beloved pet like that. I hope that soon, you’ll remember those memories and they will bring a smile to your face instead of the tears that need to be there now.

  15. I’m so sorry to read about Louie 😦

  16. A-S, I am so sorry for your loss. 😦 We’re thinking about you guys.

  17. i’m so sorry to hear about louie. the pictures are wonderful. losing a pet is so sad. (((hugs)))

  18. So sorry to hear this, A-S. Louie was a sweet guy and was lucky to have such a loving family with you and Pili. Thanks for the reminder to treasure our fuzzy family members.

    Much love.

  19. Oh, how sad. Poor Louie. He’ll live on in your heart.

  20. I am so sorry about your loss. I have a cat named Louie, too, (Louis- the French pron.) and I will give him some extra lovin’ in honor of your Louie. So sad.

  21. Sending lots of love your way {{{HUGS}}}.

  22. oh honey, I’m so so sorry. Furry love is the hardest to lose. I still say a silent Yizkor for Sweet Pea, right around Rosh Hashanah each year, as that’s when he ‘went to the rainbow bridge.”

    This loss comes so close to your other recent furry loss, and for this, I’m so sorry, too.

    hugs, and meows, from our beasties to you.

  23. I am so sorry. He had a great kitty life, and you missing him is only proof of that.

    Hugs to you and Pili.

  24. I’m so sorry for your loss. Love to you and your family.

  25. So sorry…
    Kerri and Ruby

  26. I’m really sorry. They’re so hard to say goodbye to. 😦

  27. Awww.. I’m so sorry 😦 Our animals are our babies too, and just as much our family.

  28. *hugs* I’m sooo sorry. We are “those cat people” and totally understand the sadness. We lost our 4 yr old kitty when we lived out west-er and I still cry when I think of her.
    Not to mention that we had to move our beloved, spoiled kitties to my MILs because of Squeak’s allergies. We get to visit them when Lo & Co’s Flipper makes his arrival and I’m not sure which I’m more excited about…

    Louie was a beautiful cat. I’m sorry you’re without him.

  29. I’m so sorry, sweetie. It’s so, so, so hard. That was a lovely post. We have a kitty with kidney problems, too. I hope it is a long time before we have to talk about options, but I can’t imagine it will be as long as we want it to be.

  30. so so so sorry. sending lots of love your way.
    xo

  31. Oh, I’m so sorry. It’s so terrible to lose the ones we love.

  32. He was a great looking cat. I love his little Hercule Poirot mustache. It’s so hard to lose a pet, they really do become family. Hugs to you.

  33. I’m so sorry for the loss of your precious Louie.

  34. I’m so sorry.

  35. I’m so sorry.

  36. I am so sorry. Please accept my sympathies.

  37. I’m so very sorry, Art…

  38. I’m so sorry for your loss! It is so difficult losing a pet. You’re in my thoughts!

  39. i hate the ones where the pets die. i’m sorry.

  40. Uhhhh..so very sorry about your cat. My own snuggly dog’s name is Louie. I was almost in tears reading this. What a horrible thing to happen.

  41. So, so sorry. Losing furry friends is such a heartbreak.

  42. So sorry about Louie. He sounds like a wonderful cat.

  43. So sorry. He was a sweetheart.

  44. Oh Art! I am so sorry to hear about Louie. We just had to have Chaz put to sleep too. It broke my heart to see Cheryl so sad as he was her cat from the time he was a kitten. So, I know how special furry friends can be. We’ll miss Louie too! Whereever they are, hopefully they are together playing with their mice, enjoying their milk and laying on a nice warm lap.
    Wendy

  45. I am so sorry to hear about Louie!!!! We are all thinking of you!!!! He was a special, sweet, loving boy!!!! He led an excellent life with you!!!
    P.S. I think Louie & Bobo are in sync. . .we just found out that Bobo has advanced lymphoma & probably won’t last thru the month.

  46. Thinking of you, sweetie….Sounds like he was a very sweet boy. *hugs*

  47. My kitties and I are so sorry for your loss. Louie was a beautiful boy.

  48. It’s amazing how much an animal can become a part of one’s life and how much love we can feel for them and how painful losing them can be. All-in-all, these are good experiences and they make our lives (as well as our pets’ lives) more fulfilling.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your loss.

  49. Art

    I’m sorry you lost such a good friend. Big {{hugs}}

  50. oh, i’m so sorry. *hugs* cuddle with your loved ones and be well.

  51. So sad to hear your fine furry friend has passed. sending you some hugs from one feline lover to another.

  52. I am so very sorry for your loss.

    You served each other well.

  53. ArtSweet, I’m so sorry about Louie. Hugs from Antigua.

  54. Delurking to send you electronic hugs about your kitty. He is a beautiful cat.

  55. Very sorry to hear of your loss *hugs*

  56. Oh no, I’m so sorry. My best to you guys.

  57. […] a baby to love. They had lots of cats but no baby (composite picture of three cats, including Louie) You were born on.. (photo of P’ito’s Guatemalan Mommy “M” and P’ito) […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

