I like you so much, I think I’ll give you a sharp poke in the finger

May 29, 2008 at 3:12 pm | Posted in The Sweet Life | 4 Comments

A few months ago I got a new meter from OneT@uch that replaces the BD one that talks to my pump.

I promptly filed it in the bathroom cabinet o’ diabetes supplies, as I have enough strips for the BD meter to last at least until the Cubs win the World Series the end of time.

I hauled it out last night after realizing that I left Old Faithful on my desk at work.  Amongst all the new meter swag was a vial of 10 strips (WOW! I AM OVERWHELMED BY GENEROSITY) and a coupon for a free gift.

You all know I love free stuff.  I got all excited.  What would it be? A faux leather case for OneTouchie? A skin for the meter to match my pump?  With great enthusiasm, I tore open the offer.

My friends, it was a coupon for twenty free lancets.

WHOO FUCKING HOO.

Have these people never heard of daylight savings time?

p.s. Some serious P’ito cuteness over in Flickrville… comment on the pictures and encourage me to post more of them 😉

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, those diabetes folks really know how to have a rocking good time. 😉

  2. LOL!!

  3. I actually like my BD monitor better than the one touch they sent me to talk to my pump. It requires a lot less blood (at least it seems that way to me). My BD talks to my pump so I don’t know why I need the One Touch to talk to it. I had a 1 Touch before getting the BD and while it was fine it seemed rather demanding with the blood. And I agree – stingy with those strips! No wonder they give the monitors away considering they charge a buck a strip.

  4. You know, I think we use more lancets to do things like get splinters out than to actually prick my fingers. Gag.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

