Approved? Don’t I at least get to write an angry letter?

December 8, 2008 at 3:42 pm | Posted in The Sweet Life | 12 Comments

At my last endo appt I allowed as how, sure, it would be nifty to have me one of them there CGMS things, and endo said they’d submit the paperwork, but he wasn’t too hopeful about getting it approved since I didn’t have a history of any diabetes related hospitalizations. And I promptly forgot about it and went back to my current lazy 8.6 AIC mode – having fallen most definitively off the wagon of the born again diabetic awhile back…

Fast forward a month or two:

Message on my cell phone: Hi —–, This is —– from Medtronic Minimed. I’m calling to let you know that your request for coverage of the CGMS system has been approved and we are ready to ship your sensor and transmitter….

Huh?

What?

Who are you and what have you done with my insurance company?

Are you playing nice so that the incoming administration doesn’t eviscerate your slimy asses?

Don’t I even get to write an anguished outraged letter and spend six hours on hold listening to health tips (yes, losing weight CAN reduce my risk of cardiovascular disease. Yes, it’s helpful to try to reduce stress to lower blood pressure… Why yes, exercise is good for me, and maybe I’d be doing it if I weren’t still on hold waiting to talk to someone who actually knows something).

So, I guess I’ve got me one of those fancy-dancy CGMS thangs arriving on Wednesday. Any tips from the peanut gallery?

UPDATE: Lest we think it was tooo easy. The only time Extremely Busy Endo Practice can get me in to train on this before we go on our annual westward excursion? Is the Exact. Same. Time. we are meeting with a SW to discuss adoption possibilities for v. 2.0. Grrr.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That is very cool!

  2. Yay! I just got mine last Thursday and I’ll be getting hooked up on Wednesday. My whole process to less than 6 weeks. Amazingly fast compared to most people. I’m still in disbelief I have these sensors sitting on my desk.

  3. Don’t worry, A-S. I wrote enough angry letters for us all. πŸ˜‰

    CONGRATS on getting approved, and have fun cozying up to the fancy-dancy CGM! πŸ˜€

  4. I had the same experience. No angry letters. No tears. No phone calls on hold forever. Kind of nice, isn’t it???

  5. Congrats!

  6. Darn, you’ll just have to use your biatch points elsewhere, huh?

  7. May I ask what insurance you have? I think we live in the same state, and this month is when I get to pick what insurance I have for the year through work. I may pick based on CGMS coverage.

  8. YAY!!!

  9. My request as “too easy” as well. I just got the call today that they’ll be here on Thursday. Minimed and our insurance companies must be full of the Christmas Spirit, but I’m not questioning it!

  10. This is great! Sucks about the timing issues for the training though 😦 Really envious at how easy it has been for so many of you! Unfortunately it will be some time still before I would be able to get one… but here’s to hoping that at some point in the future things will change where I live πŸ™‚

  11. I got mine a couple of months ago and I LOVE it!! It totally rock!!! Best of luck to you!

  12. i have no idea what any of this means, but I did catch the reference to v 2.0…what options? what’s up in that department? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

