A boo & some cheers

June 20, 2007 at 9:52 pm | Posted in Linky Love, Political Animal | 8 Comments

Boo: President Bush, I don’t support your dumbass war. If I had any choice at all, my tax dollars would not be supporting the murder – that’s right – murder – of our young men and women and of innocent Iraqis who have the nerve to do something ridiculous like go out and buy groceries at the market. So how do you justify telling me that my tax dollars can’t be spent on stem cell research that could save my life, because “Destroying human life [embryos which have not been transferred into a human uterus, let alone successfully implanted and developed into blobs with beating hearts] in the hopes of saving human life is not ethical.” Now remind me what the hell this war is supposedly about?

Cheer: To the NYS Assembly, which passed a bill to allow same-sex couples equal access to marriage by a bipartisan vote of 85 to 61. State laws don’t grant us access to the most important legal benefits of marriage, but they’re certainly a step in the right direction. C’mon NYS Senate!

And Another Cheer: To the much deserving Sofia, who is OUT OF PGN! Hip hip hooray!

And Another Long Overdue Cheer: For Dis, who very generously donated a Children’s Place gift card to Operation Lifeboat. I’ve only been meaning to thank her for, oh a few weeks now!

But don’t you fret: Dannielynn pouts just like Anna. Just in case you were worried.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. yeah, this is my beef with W. All life is precious, except lives he has decided to spend in “defending our freedoms”.

  2. could not agree with you MORE!!! On BOTH counts!!!

  3. Goooo, New York!

    As for W: once an idiot, always an idiot. He’s not doing anything but digging himself in a little deeper.

  4. I agree on both counts as well. On the stem cell issue, the real issue is what was the leadership in Congress thinking, as they knew the baboon in the White House would veto it, so my feeling is that they rushed to get this bill passed instead of gathering a veto-proof margin. Both should be embarrassed by their stupidity. Now, if we can only convince the New York State Senate to move on this issue …

  5. Yay for NY! I used to live there and all of my family still does, so I’m really happy to hear that most of us live in a reasonable state.

    There’s a reason that I voted against W (as much as I was voting for someone else). Actually, there are many of them. What astounded me was when I read that the amount we’d spent on the war as of the beginning of 2006 could have funded access to HIV antiretroviral medication in developing countries for almost 30 years. But we’re wasting it on killing more people. And refusing to develop things that would save other lives. Which is more ethical, stem cell research on an embryo that might have become a baby or saving the lives of people who already exist in the world?

  6. Any news about your PINK progress?? I’ve been saying BIG prayers that you hear something soon. 🙂

  7. Here, here!

  8. Yup yup and yup. Amen.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.