I can’t believe this is true

July 13, 2008 at 3:30 pm | Posted in M'ijo | 15 Comments

(I have lots of things to write about but they will have to wait)

One year ago today, P’ito landed on U.S. soil with us.

It’s been quite the year: new baby, new city, new home, new job.

Rattled Fun All the news that's fit to... eat?
July 2007 August 2007 September 2007
Monkey Eat Banana. Enough Cake! DSC_8706
October 2007 November 2007 December 2007
DSC_9518 Happy Boy First (Non Mommy) Haircut
January 2008 February 2008 March 2008
Sunny Boy Check out my pine needles, mama! Puddle Jumper
April 2008 May 2008 June 2008
Favorite Picture (for the moment)
July 2008

It’s been the craziest, most joy-filled year of my life.

Thank you Pili, for helping me to realize my dreams, and thank you P’ito, for making us a family of three and realizing our dream.

I don’t have words for how much my heart swells when I look at you both.

p.s. Over on the right there is a new button for “Erin’s Shop.” I first met Erin when we were visiting P’ito and she and her husband were fostering their daughter in Antigua.  P’ito has been home for a year – and they are still there.  If you would like to help us celebrate this first family day, or if you have any sort of gift-giving need coming up in your life – please click through and take a look at the beautiful crafts Erin is making using Guatemalan textiles.   In addition to being works of art, they’re also her family’s primary source of income right now.  In honor of our first anniversary of being a family – won’t you please help someone else achieve that goal?

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh damn, Art. You made me cry……sniffle sniffle. I can’t believe how big he is getting.
    Thanks for showing all of us that determination and patience can make dreams come true.
    My best wishes for many more P’ito On American Soil anniversaries!!!!!

  2. Darling, darling, darling!! What a blessed family!!

  3. Awwww…happy 1 year! What a wonderful milestone!

  4. He’s absolutely adorable, and you are blessed and lucky to have such a great family. 🙂

  5. He’s beautiful, and I can’t believe how big he’s gotten.

    Congratulations on a wonderful first year.

    Seeyoubye.

  6. Congrats on your first anniversary of being home!!!
    Kerri, Medina, and Ruby

  7. Congratulations — its hard to believe its been a year already! BTW, have you considered going to California or Canada (or Mass., some towns like Cambridge do not adhere to the residency requirement anyway, besides all you need to do is tell the town clerk you’ve taken a job in any Mass. town and most don’t harass couples who want to do it there anyway now that Romney is no longer governor there) to formalize your union now that NY Governor Paterson has mandated that all NY State agencies should recognize unions legalized in other jurisdictions be recognized where it is recognized legally? The reason I ask is because Joe and I are giving it consideration and I was unsure whether any other New Yorkers might also consider it?

  8. Congratulations for a year of wonder! I am so happy for you guys.

  9. Gosh, it’s hard to believe it’s been a year! P’ito is growing WAAAAY too fast. Sort of like K. Love the little montage-what a cutie!

  10. Congratulations on one year! I see your little boy is driving now…he’s adorable.

  11. Happy one year to a beautiful family!!

  12. Oh, he is such a doll!

    And thanks for the plug 🙂

  13. Congratulations! Loved the pics.
    And thanks for the reminder about Erin’s shop…It’s been at least 5 weeks since I made a purchase!

  14. Wow, a year already! He is so gorgeous, and getting more so by the day!

  15. sweetest most beautiful boy. happy year.

    just visited erin’s shop and bought some things for the boy’s room. thanks for linking!


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.